Linguistics 201 Homepage
Vajda's Homepage
Linguistics 201

INTRODUCTION TO LINGUISTICS

Fall Quarter 2001
Schedule

Daily 11:00-11:50

Syllabus   |    Schedule  |  Course Materials  |  Study Sheets  |  Writing Systems

Week of:
Sept 26   |   Oct 1   |   Oct 8   |  Oct 15  |   Oct 22   |   Oct 29   |   Nov 5  
 Nov 12   |   Nov 19   |   Nov 26   |   Dec 3


~Week 1~

Sept. 26 - Wednesday

Language and mind (introductory lecture) Read pp. 3-13.
Read today's lecture in full.
See today's lecture notes (if you didn't receive a copy from me in class today):   Part I    Part II
See next class lecture notes (do this every day and bring it to class to save you from writing so much during note-taking).
Preview of the Review sheets for Test One:   Sheet I   Sheet II

Sept. 27- Thursday

Animal systems of communication (vs. human language) Read pp. 22-27, 350-355.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Sept. 28 - Friday

Origin of language (beliefs and more beliefs) Read pp. 14-21, 51-56.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes A: signs
See next class lecture notes B: words, morphemes

top


~Week 2~

Oct. 1- Monday

Morphology (signs, classification of words) Read pp. 65-76, also read Signs in the SM.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 2 - Tuesday

Morphology (classification of morphemes) Read pp. 76-93.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 3 - Wednesday

Morphology (problems with analysis) Read pp. 93-98, also 106-129.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 4 - Thursday

Syntax (grammaticality, phrase structure rules) Read pp. 129-136.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 5 - Friday

Syntax (subcategorization, transformational rules, analysis of English) Read pp.136-148, 478-480.
Read today's lecture in full.

top


~Week 3~

Oct. 8- Monday

In-class review for Test I
See Test I review sheet #1.
See Test II question review sheet #2. See the same sheet with answers provided.

Oct. 9 - Tuesday -TEST I

Test I (Language and mind, animal communication, origin of language, morphology, syntax)
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 10 - Wednesday

Articulatory phonetics (airstream mechanisms, phonation)
Read pp. 213-223, and take a peek at the complete IPA
(Here are the answers for the Vowels and Consanants).
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.
Preview of the Review sheets for Test II

Oct. 11 - Thursday

Articulatory phonetics (consonants) .
Read pp. 223-234 and SM pitfalls and problems when transcribing General American English
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 12 - Friday

Articulatory phonetics (vowels) Read pp. 234-240.
See the Transcription of several American Dialects
Read today's lecture in full.

top


~Week 4~

Oct. 15 - Monday

Practice exercises on the sounds of American English
Be ready to go over in class SM sheet The sounds of English and their phonetic transcription.
(Catch up on any left over reading assignments)
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 16 - Tuesday

Phonetics (prosodic features of language) Read pp. 240-248.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.
See Diacritic Marks Used in Transcribing English.

Oct. 17 - Wednesday

Phonology (phoneme theory) Read pp. 253-269. Read SM The Phoneme theory.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 18 - Thursday

Phonology (distinctive features and typology) Read pp. 269-283.
Read SM Phonemic analysis of American Consonants(you'll have to know this for test II).
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 19 - Friday

Phonology (phonological rules)
Read pp. 283-293. By tomorrow you should have finished reading SM phonemic analysis of American Vowels. Now you should be able to transcribe any English word using IPA.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

top


~Week 5~

Oct. 22 - Monday

Phonology (phonological rules) Read pp. 293-305, including the summary
Read today's lecture in full.

Oct. 23 - Tuesday

In-class review.
Review sheet for Test II.

Oct. 24 - Wednesday -TEST II

Test II (phonetics and phonology of English; does not include problems involving the
writing of phonological rules, but you must know how to transcribe simple English words using the IPA)
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 25 - Thursday

Semantics (meaning in language) Read pp. 158-171.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.
Preview of the Review sheet for Test III.

Oct. 26 - Friday

Semantics (lexical semantics) Read pp. 171-190, and also the SM semantics study sheet.
Be ready to go over ex. 7 on pp. 206-207 in class.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

top


~Week 6~

Oct. 29 - Monday

Pragmatics (the meaning of entire utterances)
Read pp. 190-203. Be ready to go over ex. 10, 11 on pp. 208-209 in class (don't need to turn it in).
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 30 - Tuesday

Dialects and other social aspects of language (styles, registers) Read pp. 399-402.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Oct. 31 - Wednesday

Historical linguistics. Read 425-439 and look over the SM on Indo-European.
More Language Maps
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 1 - Thursday

Language contact (what happens when languages mix)
Read pp. 420-425.
Read today's lecture in full.
See notes to the film Before Babel.

Nov. 2 - Friday

In-class film Before Babel. Look at your SM a map of world languages with explanations of world language families, a map showing Indo-European languages, and a sheet describing the IE language family. Catch up on the past week's reading if you are behind.
See next class lecture notes.

top


~Week 7~

Nov. 5 - Monday

History of English (from the beginnings to 438) Read pp. 320-322.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 6- Tuesday

History of English (from 438-1066) Read pp. 450-463.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 7 - Wednesday

History of English (after 1066) Read pp. 464-477 and SM summary The history of English.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 8 - Thursday

The dialects of American English. Read pp. 402-411.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 9 - Friday

The dialects of American English. Read SM summary The Dialects of English.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

top


~Week 8~

Nov. 12 - Monday

Veterans Day Holiday

Nov. 13 - Tuesday

Black English. Read pp. 412-420.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 14 - Wednesday

Ecological linguistics (The impact of disease on the world distribution of languages since 1492)
No reading, but study your SM on world language families and bring your SM World language map to class.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 15 - Thursday

Native American languages
Read today's lecture in full
Review sheet for Test III. Be sure you know which languages of Europe are Indo-European and which are not. Also read pp. 482-3.

Nov. 16 - Friday -TEST III

Test III (Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics)
See next class lecture notes.

top


~Week 9~

Nov. 19 - Monday

Origin and definition of writing. Read pp. 491-498.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.
Study Sheet on Writing Systems

Nov. 20 - Tuesday

Early writing systems (Sumerian, Egyptian, Mayan, Ancient Chinese).
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 21 - Wednesday

Origin of alphabetic writing (Semitic writing)
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 22 - Thursday

Thanksgiving Holiday

Nov. 23 - Friday

Thanksgiving Holiday

top


~Week 10~

Nov. 26 - Monday

Western alphabets Read pp. 499-505.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 27 - Tuesday

Modern alternatives to the alphabet (Chinese)
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 28 - Wednesday

Modern alternatives to the alphabet (Japanese)
Read pp. 505-513. Read SM A study guide to the history of writing.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 29 - Thursday

Two unique writing systems: Korean, Cherokee
Read pp. 505-513. Read SM A study guide to the history of writing.
Read today's lecture in full.
See Korean Alphabet
See Cherokee Syllabary
See next class lecture notes.

Nov. 30 - Friday

Artificial languages Read SM on artificial languages.
Be ready to go over in class ex # 9, 10, p. 516.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

top


~Week 11~

Dec. 3 - Monday

Computers and language Read pp. 373-389 (you won't be responsible for the darkened words in this section unless they are specifically stressed in class).
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Dec. 4 - Tuesday

Child language acquisition Read pp. 318-346.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Dec. 5 - Wednesday

Second language acquisition Read pp. 346-350.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Dec. 6 - Thursday

Language and the brain Read pp. 361-373.
Read today's lecture in full.
See next class lecture notes.

Dec. 7 - Friday

Language and mind: in lieu of a conclusion Read pp. 34-51.
Read today's lecture in full.
Final review sheet.

Final exam (actually just TEST IV)

Review especially on the history and theory of writing; you will also have 15 one-syllable English words to transcribe using the IPA. This is the only material from the earlier part of the course that will be re-tested.

top